Awards Committees 

Awards Committee Memberships for 2016–2017. Applications and nominations for MSA Awards are to be sent by email following the instructions provided on the Awards page.

Mycological Society Distinctions Committee
Awards administered: Distinguished Mycologist Award, Alexopoulos Prize, Weston Award for Excellence in Teaching, The Gordon and Tina Wasson Award. 
Chair: 
• Dr. Christopher Schardl, schardl@uky.edu
Members: 
• Dr. Charles Bacon, charles.bacon@ars.usda.gov
• Dennis Desjardin, ded@sfsu.edu
• Dr. Betsy Arnold, arnold@ag.arizona.edu
• Dr. Anne Pringle, apringle2@wisc.edu
• Dr. Francois Lutzoni, ex officio, 
• Past Chair; Dr. Georgiana May, ex officio, President 

Honorary Awards Committee
Awards administered: MSA Fellows, Honorary Members.
Chair:  
• Dr. David Hibbett, dhibbet@clarku.edu
Members: 
• Dr. Jean Lodge, dlodge@caribe.net
• Dr. Mary Berbee, ex officio, Past Chair 

Student Awards Committee
Awards administered: MSA Graduate Fellowships, NAMA Memorial Fellowship, Backus Award, Undergraduate Research Award, Best oral and poster presentations by undergraduate and graduate students. 
Chair: 
• Dr. Tom Horton, trhorton@esf.edu
Members: 
• Dr. Heather Hallen-Adams, hhallen-adams2@unl.edu
• Dr. Allison Walker, Allison.Walker@acadiau.ca
• Dr. Jason Slot, slot.1@osu.edu
• Dr. Tim James, ex officio, Past Chair




Mentor Travel Awards Committee
Awards administered: Mentor Student Travel Awards.
Chair: 
• Dr. Scott Bates, stbates@purdue.edu
Members: 
• Dr. Mahajabeen Padamsee, PadamseeM@landcareresearch.co.nz
• Dr. Sara Branco, sara.mayer.branco@gmail.com
• Dr. Stephen Mondo, sjmondo@lbl.gov
• Dr. Brian Perry, ex-officio, Past Chair

Research Awards Committee
Awards administered: Martin-Baker Award, Clark T. Rogerson Student Research Award, Forest Fungal Ecology Research Award, Forest Fungal Ecology Postdoctoral Research Award, Alexander H. and Helen V. Smith Research Award, John W. Rippon Research Award, Salomon Bartnicki-Garcia Award, Emory Simmons Research Award, Translational Mycology Awards (regular and postdoctoral), Robert W. Lichtwardt Student Research Award. 

Chair: 
• Dr. Peter Kennedy, kennedyp@umn.edu
Members:
• Dr. Jolanta Miadlikowska, jolantam@duke.edu
• Dr. Tim James, tyjames@umich.edu
• Dr. Greg Mueller, gmueller@chicagobotanic.org
• Dr. Imke Schmitt, imke.schmitt@senckenberg.de
• Dr. David Geiser, ex officio, Past Chair

International Travel Awards
Awards administered: International Travel Awards

Chair: 
• Maria P. Martin-Esteban (2014-2018), maripaz@rjb.csic.es, Royal Botanical Garden-CSIC, Head of Mycological Department, Real Jardín Botánico, RJB-CSIC, Plaza de Murillo 2, 28014 Madrid, Spain

Members: 
• Gábor M. Kovács (2015-2019), gmkovacs@elte.hu
• Else Vellinga (2015-2019), ecvellinga@comcast.net
• Marc Stadler (2015-2019), marc.stadler@t-online.de
• Neal Bougher, ex officio, Past Chair

MSA Awards Committee Memberships for 2017–2018

Submissions of applications and nominations for all MSA Awards are to be made by following the detailed instructions provided via the links for each award on the main MSA Awards page.

MSA Award Coordinator
Andrea Porras-Alfaro, a-porras-alfaro@wiu.edu

Treasurer
Chris Schardl, chris.schardl@uky.edu

Mycological Society Distinctions Committee
Awards administered: Distinguished Mycologist Award, Alexopoulos Prize, Weston Award for Excellence in Teaching, The Gordon and Tina Wasson Award.

Chair:
•          Dennis Desjardin, ded@sfsu.edu
Members:
•          Betsy Arnold, arnold@ag.arizona.edu
•          Anne Pringle, apringle2@wisc.edu
•          Matt Smith, trufflesmith@ufl.edu
•          Lori Carris, carris@wsu.edu
•          Charles Bacon, ex officio, Past Chair
•          Sharon Cantrell, ex officio, MSA President

Honorary Awards Committee 

Awards administered: MSA Fellows, Honorary Members.

Chair: 
•          Kerry O'Donnell, Kerry.odonnell@ars.usda.gov
Members:
•          Carol Shearer, carolshe@uiuc.edu
•          Tom Volk, tvolk@uwlax.edu
•          Jean Lodge, ex officio, Past Chair

Student Awards Committee
Awards administered: MSA Graduate Fellowships, NAMA Memorial Fellowship, Backus Award, Undergraduate Research Award, Best oral and poster presentations by undergraduate and graduate students.

Chair:
•          Allison Walker, Allison.Walker@acadiau.ca
Members:
•          Jason Slot, slot.1@osu.edu
•          Mia Maltz, mmaltz@uci.edu
•          Heather Hallen-Adams, ex officio, Past Chair

Mentor Travel Awards Committee
Awards administered: Mentor Student Travel Awards.

Chair: 
•          Sara Branco, sara.mayer.branco@gmail.com
Members:
•          Stephen Mondo, sjmondo@lbl.gov
•          Don Walker, dmwalker@tntech.edu
•          Vinson Doyle, vdoyle@agcenter.lsu.edu
•          Mahajabeen Padamsee, ex-officio, Past Chair

Research Awards Committee
Awards administered: Martin-Baker Award, Clark T. Rogerson Student Research Award, Forest Fungal Ecology Research Award, Forest Fungal Ecology Postdoctoral Research Award, Alexander H. and Helen V. Smith Research Award, John W. Rippon Research Award, Salomon Bartnicki-Garcia Award, Emory Simmons Research Award, Translational Mycology Awards (regular and postdoctoral), Robert W. Lichtwardt Student Research Award.

Chair:
•          Tim James, tyjames@umich.edu
Members:
•          Greg Mueller, gmueller@chicagobotanic.org
•          Andy Wilson, andrew.wilson@botanicgardens.org
•          Ari Jumpponen, ari@ksu.edu
•          Camille Truong, camille.truong@outlook.com
•          Jolanta Miadlikowska, ex officio, Past Chair

International Travel Awards
Awards administered: International Travel Awards

Chair:
•          Else Vellinga, ecvellinga@comcast.net
Members:
•          Marc Stadler, marc.stadler@t-online.de
•          Maria Alice Neves, maliceneves@gmail.com
•          Terry Torres Cruz, terryjari@gmail.com
•          Maria P. Martin-Esteban, ex officio, Past Chair